5 Simple Truths I Have Learned from my Mom

Moms are amazing. They have the hardest job in the world, and they don’t even get a manual or training on how to be a mom. They learn as they go. And one thing I have learned from watching my mom is that they don’t stop. Their job doesn’t go from 9-5 and then they get to go home. They don’t even get weekends off. You could say the same about dads, but the moms are usually the ones who are at home cleaning up messy faces and dirty hands (not to mention the piles of laundry that go along with the messy faces and dirty hands).

What’s my reason for saying all of this? I suppose it’s because I have learned so much from my mom, whether it’s from the things she does or what she says. I thought I might share 5 simple truths that I have learned from my mom:

1. You should care about what other people think of you – even if you only care a little bit. People watch you every day. And for me, I have two younger siblings who watched me while we were growing up. I consider myself the guinea pig of the family because I’m the oldest and my siblings watch what I do (sometimes I also call myself the lab rat, but my mom doesn’t like that one too much). Not caring about what other people think of you might be ok for a while, but if you plan on getting a job, you should probably care about what your future boss thinks of you.

2. Fake it till you make it – I know this is cliché, but my mom has said this to me so many times. “But Mom, I don’t feel like being nice.” “Fake it till you make it.” Just because I don’t feel like being nice doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be nice. And this one simple truth helped me get through high school and now college.

3. It’s ok to not be ok – Fake it till you make it is applicable to a lot of situations, but when you’re really not feeling it… it’s ok to not be ok. My mom has shown me that not being ok is actually perfectly fine. In fact, it’s probably better to not be ok all the time because it eventually makes you stronger.

4. Be nice to mean people – This one is tough. My mom likes to use Proverbs 25:21-22 which says, “If your enemy is hungry, give him bread to eat, and if he is thirsty, give him water to drink, for you will heap burning coals on his head, and the Lord will reward you” (ESV). I think my favourite part of this verse is the very last part “and the Lord will reward you.” It’s true. My mom has had to tell me, my sister, and my brother that being nice to mean people will bless you and you will feel better for doing it.

5. Look presentable – This one might just be my mom’s British side coming out. She puts make up on to go to the grocery store or Wal Mart, and there’s nothing wrong with that. I do it, too. Looking presentable just makes you feel so much better, too.

And there you have it. Some simple, but valuable, truths.

2 thoughts on “5 Simple Truths I Have Learned from my Mom

  1. Oh my gosh I’m tearing up!! Kiana Banana you my blessed my heart with keeping it real. Love you so much for always being classy and REAL ❤

Leave a Reply

